

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Stacy Leistner ANSI (212) 642-4931

ANSI Announces Recipients of the 2007 Leadership and Service Awards

New York, August 21, 2007- ANSI announced today the recipients of its 2007 Leadership and Service Awards. Recipients have been recognized for their significant contributions to national and international standardization activities, as well as an ongoing commitment to their industry, their nation, and the enhancement of the global voluntary consensus standards system. ANSI will honor these fourteen distinguished award recipients during an October 17 ceremony held in conjunction with the U.S. celebration of World Standards Week 2007.

Kathleen Riley Kono has been awarded the Astin-Polk International Standards Medal, which honors distinguished service in promoting trade and understanding among nations through the advancement, development, or administration of international standardization, measurements, or certification. As vice president for global cooperation at ASTM International, Ms. Kono contributed to expanding the role of standards in international trade and regulation and to establishing networks among standards development organizations worldwide, particularly in developing nations.

Dan Bart will receive the Howard Coonley Medal, which recognizes an executive that has benefited the national economy through voluntary standardization and conformity assessment and has given outstanding support to standardization as a management tool. Presently chief technology officer and advisor to the president at the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA), Mr. Bart has actively promoted standardization programs and partnerships for the industry and has worked on information technology standards at both the Electronic Industries Alliance (EIA) and the TIA.

Daniel Roley, manager for standards and regulations at Caterpillar, will receive the Finegan Standards Medal, which honors an individual who has shown extraordinary leadership in the development and application of voluntary standards. The medal recognizes Mr. Roley's accomplishments in the development of standards for earthmoving machines and his activities in the areas of safety and ergonomics.

(continued)

Karen Higginbottom, director of standards initiatives at Hewlett-Packard, will receive the Edward Lohse Information Technology Medal, which recognizes outstanding efforts to foster cooperation among the bodies involved in global IT standardization. Ms. Higginbottom has excelled in leading the International Committee for Information Technology Standards (INCITS) and has shown unswerving commitment to the IT standardization process.

Jack Wells has been awarded the Elihu Thomson Electrotechnology Medal – a new award introduced this year – which honors an individual who has contributed in an exceptional, dedicated way to the field of electrotechnology standardization, conformity assessment, and related activities at the national and international levels. Vice president for corporate development at Pass & Seymour/Legrand, Mr. Wells has worked on many standards development initiatives relating to public safety, including the National Electrical Code. He is active in both the U.S. National Committee (USNC) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

John V. Bergen will receive the George S. Wham Leadership Medal, which honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the voluntary standardization community and provided long-term direction and visionary qualities in support of the ANSI Federation. The award recognizes Bergen's many contributions to ANSI, his outstanding experience in standards management, and his efforts to define standards in medical testing, healthcare services, and the use of new technologies.

John H. Marburger, III was selected by ANSI Chairman Robert W. Noth as the recipient of the Chairman's Award, which honors outstanding accomplishments by any group or individual on behalf of ANSI or the ANSI Federation. Dr. Marburger, science advisor to the U.S. President and director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy in the Executive Office of the President, is recognized for his longstanding support of the U.S. private-sector led standardization and conformity assessment system.

Ann M. Weeks will receive the Next Generation Award, which honors an individual who has been engaged in standardization or conformity assessment activities for less than eight years and who has, during this time, demonstrated vision, leadership, dedication, and significant contributions to his or her chosen field of activity. Vice president of global government affairs at Underwriters Laboratories (UL), Ms. Weeks is promoting the international understanding of standards and conformity assessment to the benefit of commerce and trade.

(continued)

Meritorious Service Awards

Six individuals will receive the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the U.S. voluntary standardization system. Each has demonstrated outstanding service in enabling ANSI to attain the objectives for which it was founded. They are:

David L. Miller is director of standards at the American Petroleum Institute (API). As secretary of ISO/TC 67, *Materials, equipment and offshore structures for the petroleum, petrochemical and natural gas industries*, Mr. Miller has shown strong commitment to international standardization and has made significant contributions to the global oil and natural gas industry.

John Neumann has devoted much of his career to standardization activities, supporting IT technologies ranging from Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) to optical storage. He is currently working tirelessly to advance the development of standards for biometrics.

Philip M. Piqueira, chief engineer for standards integration at General Electric, is involved in both national and international standards-setting activities for installation and product standards that reflect enhanced levels of safety.

Jennifer Stradtman, trade specialist with the International Trade Administration, is an advocate for the U.S. private sector standardization system in the development of U.S. government policies and positions relating to standards, conformity assessment and trade. Her activities have supported standardization activities ranging from food safety and social responsibility to biofuels.

Dr. E. Clayton Teague, director of the National Nanotechnology Coordination Office, was instrumental to the launch of the ANSI Nanotechnology Standards Panel. In his capacity as co-chair, he succeeded in bringing together various standards stakeholders to formulate recommendations of prioritized areas for nanotechnology standardization. He has carried that tradition forward to the international community as chair of the U.S. Technical Advisory Group and head of the U.S. delegation for the ISO committee on nanotechnologies.

John A. Wafer, recently retired from Eaton Electrical, has more than 40 years of experience in the electrical industry. During his career he facilitated the development of installation and product standards enhancing the safety of electrical systems.

###

www.ansi.org